Baghdad Solitaire by Leslie Cockburn

Baghdad Solitaire

Leslie Cockburn

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Share this book

Fans

Become this book's first fan!

More on this book

April 22, 2018

Cockburn for Congress

Leslie Cockburn, author of Baghdad Solitaire, has secured enough delegates to make her the Democratic Party's nominee for the U.S. Congress in Virginia's 5th District.

April 11, 2018

"Thank You, Mr. Trump"

Leslie Cockburn, author of Baghdad Solitaire, explains why she is running for Congress.

In Iraq after the fall of Saddam Hussein, love and friendship are as uncertain as the shifting battle lines of the civil war. Lee McGuinness, a trauma surgeon on a humanitarian mission, is also on a personal quest: to find her companion-in-arms, Martin Carrigan, who has disappeared under mysterious circumstances. In search of someone — and something — to believe in, Lee must navigate a wilderness of mirrors in which greed, lies, and brutality are found among allies and enemies alike. In the tradition of Graham Greene and Robert Stone, Leslie Cockburn has written a haunting novel of intrigue and romance set in a deadly world of deception.

Log in or register to post comments.

Acclaim

"Fearless and artful, with a Renaissance painter's eye for detail, Leslie Cockburn regales us with the most provoking political thriller to have come out of the Iraq war and its aftermath. The vices and virtues of humanity in a war-torn, dismantled society practically jump from the pages to immerse us in an unforgettable story. A great read."

Gioconda Belli, author of Infinity in the Palm of Her Hand

"Leslie Cockburn's stunning debut novel, Baghdad Solitaire, is a thriller that resonates with authenticity and truth, a book that could only have been written by one who had actually lived on the razor’s edge of death."

Wade Davis, author of Into the Silence

"Rife with intrigue, corruption and cover-up, Baghdad Solitaire is so utterly believable you'll wonder if the events she describes didn't actually happen. Leslie Cockburn takes us on an unforgettable journey into a modern-day Heart of Darkness. This is suspense of the highest order."

Scott Wallace, author of The Unconquered: In Search of the Amazon's Last Uncontacted Tribes

Copyright 2018 | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Contact Us